Ads Top

Restrict WhatsApp from sharing your user data to Facebook

WhatsApp user data

Facebook has announced that it has made a major change in its WhatsApp's privacy policy. Its existing users will soon receive a notification update to the apps privacy terms & conditions. This new Terms & Conditions announce that it will share some WhatsApp user data with Facebook.

This includes ads targeting purposes on Facebook pages. The information shared will include phone number which the user used to verify their account and the last time the user used the service. The information shared is not something you share with a data mining tech giant. Though, users can partially opt-out from sharing the information to WhatsApp.

How to restrict WhatsApp from sharing your user data

Unfortunately, there is no way to totally opt out apart from deleting your account from not using WhatsApp. When the notification pop out, don't tap Agree, instead tap read which is highlighted in blue. You will then see a control at the bottom of the screen. Please uncheck the box.

WhatsApp user data

WhatsApp user data

If you have already agreed to WhatsApp’s privacy policy, you will have an additional 30 days to make this choice by going to Settings > Account > Share my account info in the app. On doing so you will see the same control at the bottom of the screen, then uncheck the box to opt out.

Remember: You may not totally reject sharing your user data with WhatsApp .

Chuks Amobi:

I'm so passionate about your Android issue, Facebook, WhatsApp and the internet. Hire me for Web development and better UX


Connect me: Twitter | Facebook | WhatsApp

No comments:

We have enabled Facebook comment feature. Tap on facebook to post via Facebook

Powered by Blogger.