How to help your friend recover their Facebook account

Last Updated on December 14, 2020

You can now help your friend recover their Facebook account with the new Facebook report feature. It is very simple and we have shared the steps you should follow.

Helping your friend to recover Facebook account could be because you think someone else is using their account or their Facebook account has been hacked. Since they cannot have access to their account any longer, helping them get back to it could be a better choice.

You may also need to read some of our helpful guides on Facebook account recovery and report before you proceed to how you can help your friend recover their Facebook account.



Helping your friend recover their Facebook account

  1. Go to the profile of the fake account. If you can’t find it, try searching for the name used on the profile.
  2. report fake facebook account 2018

    Click on the horizontal dotted line on the cover photo beside Message button and select Report

  3. Then click I want to help xxxxxx(indicated by friend’s name)
  4. Then click I think someone else is using his account from the options
  5. From the options, click Make xxxxxx aware of this (xxxxxx is replaced by the friend’s name).

Facebook will help them review their recent posts and secure their account. They won’t know that you asked Facebook to do this.

Assist your friend recover their Facebook account using Facebook mobile app

report fake facebook account 2018

  1. Open Facebook app on your device
  2. Go to the profile of the fake account. If you can’t find it, try searching for the name used on the profile or asking your friends if they can send you a link to it.
  3. You will see four icons (Friends, Follow/Following, Message and three horizontal icon).
  4. Tap on the last icon which is the rounded three horizontal icon to pop up options
  5. From the options, select Report
  6. Then click I want to help xxxxxx(indicated by friend’s name)
  7. Then click I think someone else is using his account from the options
  8. From the options, click Make xxxxxx aware of this (xxxxxx is replaced by the friend’s name).

Your friend’s Facebook account should be restored after they must have reviewed their past posts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.