1. Home
  2. Facebook DIY
  3. Managing over your Privacy on Facebook

Managing over your Privacy on Facebook

Privacy is a personal controlled security. If one intends to have a high priority on privacy, it is a personal choice. Sometimes, these privatizations are somewhat manipulated either by ourselves directly or indirectly which we have discussed in this guide.

Facebook has lots of crazy features which most of its users have no idea that they exist right there on Settings. There are lots of privacy options. These options control which part of your privacy to be restricted to a group of persons on Facebook.

These group of persons could be your friends on Facebook, friends of your Facebook friend or people you don’t know on Facebook (Public).

To use these Facebook privacy options, you have to head over to the Privacy menu on Settings. If you’re using Facebook App for either Android, iPhone or iPad, then

  1. Tap on the Menu button (three horizontal line),
  2. Scroll down, tap Account Settings
  3. Scroll down again, tap Privacy.

If you’re using a PC or Mac, do the following;

  1. Click on the dropdown caret beside the notification and help icons
  2. Click on Settings
  3. At the left side of the Settings page, click Privacy.

Now that you are there on Privacy control page, you have a lot of options to manage depending on what you really want to achieve. For the sake of keeping this guide short, we will only discuss one major privacy option called – Post audience privacy.

Facebook Post audience privacy has 5 parts.

  1. Who can see your future posts
  2. Who can see your friend list
  3. Limit Past Posts – Limit the audience for posts you have shared with Public in the past
  4. Who can contact me
  5. Who can look me up

Who can see your future posts

It allows one to set who will see one’s post when next they post anything on Facebook. By default, Facebook audience privacy is set to Public meaning that everyone on Facebook that comes across your profile can see everything you have shared whether they are on your friend list or not.

When it is set to Friends, you are telling Facebook to only show whatever you share to only people on your friend list. For anyone to see your posts, they must be your friend in order to do so. But when it is set to Only me, nobody except you sees your posts. It is like you are just talking to yourself

You have decide whether your friends alone are to see your posts or you don’t want anybody to see whatever you post on your timeline or you want everyone that comes across your profile on Facebook to see all your updates and mobile uploads.Who can see your friend list

People have different reasons for sending friend requests. Maybe they want to get closer to your family, close friends, beautiful faces on your list. They may also want to clone their profile or decide to study their relationships with you. Everything on social media is quite complicated.

It is either you decide whether your friend list to be open to Public, friends or just you alone. In this case, I would say let it be just only for me.

Limit Past Posts – Limit the audience for posts you have shared with Public in the past.

This is an extension of the first option, who can see your future posts. With this, it allows one to change the audience of all your past posts you have shared starting from your first post on Facebook to what option you chose in the first option (Friends or Only me).

This means, if you chose who can see your future updates to Friends, then all your past posts will be changed to Friends and vice versa.

Who can contact me?

This manages who will be able to send you friend requests on Facebook. It could either be Public or Friends of friends. Friends of friends are your mutual friends – they are the friends of your Facebook friends. I recommend you choose Friends of friends instead of Public unless you want anyone on Facebook and outside of Facebook to send you requests.

Who can look me up?

Here, you define who can find you on Facebook either using the email address you registered on Facebook, phone number or by simply searching your name on search engines.

One can restrict these options to only Friends. In the case of “Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link your profile, kindly choose NO if your account is strictly personal or otherwise.

The benefit of restricting search engines outside of Facebook to NO is to avoid one’s Facebook account ID being jeopardized by hackers.

If the account has allowed access for other search engines outside of Facebook to link one’s profile, then there is a chance that the account may have a tendency of being compromised.

One can still identify one’s Facebook ID either hovering around the person’s Facebook profile or using findmyfbid but if your account is restricted from search engine access, it won’t show up your ID.

Take a chance to see if your Facebook ID will pop up using this link, https://findmyfbid.com/. If it does, change the search engine option to NO.

We hope you found this guide very useful. Share to friends and to your favorite social media below.

Wants to get deeper into how Facebook Security and Privacy works? We have created a 45 page complete security Handbook. Click here to learn more and download your copy or visit our download page.

Recommended update

Still not satisfied? Join our Forum and post it

Updated on August 18, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Add A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.